The Computational Bioscience Program of the University of Colorado School of Medicine
home page
about the program
news & events
contact us
our people
core faculty
associated faculty
postdoctoral fellows
ph.d. students
program staff
program alumni
the ph.d. program
the postdoctoral program
about our research
giving opportunities
our advisory board
resources & links
publications
for the media
job opportunities
site map
events calendar
 
Research Staff

Mike Bada, PhD

Biomedical Ontologist

Email: Mike.Bada@ucdenver.edu

Research Areas: Formal (especially ontology–based) representation of biological data and its applications. The integration and enrichment of existing biological ontologies by mining the component ontologies, generating assertions involving the ontological terms, and adding these assertions to the ontologies as links between terms. Also, the annotation of texts to serve as gold–standard corpora for biomedical text–mining, involving maintenance of the ontologies used, development of the annotation guidelines, and training of the annotators.
PubMed Publications

Anis Karimpour-Fard, PhD

Bioinformatics Research Associate

Email: Anis.Karimpour-Fard@ucdenver.edu

Research Areas: Development and application of statistical and machine learning methods for analyzing large high throughput genomic datasets.
PubMed Publications

Kevin Livingston

Research Associate

Email: Kevin.Livingston@ucdenver.edu

Research Areas: My research investigates how to build intelligent systems that are capable of leveraging large quantities of background knowledge. Specifically I am currently working on knowledge representation and reasoning of biological information to facilitate extracting more information from biomedical journal articles.
PubMed Publications

 

 

Administrative Staff  

  Kathleen R. Thomas, BS
Administrative Coordinator
Email: Kathy.R.Thomas@ucdenver.edu
 
photo of Elizabeth Wethington Program Administrator Elizabeth Wethington, MA
Program Administrator
Email: Elizabeth.Wethington@ucdenver.edu
David Farrell, BS
Systems Administration / IT Manager
Email: David.Farrell@ucdenver.edu
Home Page | About The Program | News & Events | Contact Us | Our People | Graduate Studies | Postdoctoral Fellowships
About Our Research | Our Supporters | Our Advisory Board | Resources & Links | Publications | For The Media
Job Opportunities
| Site Map | Events Calendar